Improve Your Relationship with Food: Part 1

Follow

Food surrounds us. It’s in our homes, at our work and the centerpiece of most social settings. Yet, most of us can’t say we have a truly healthy relationship with food. Maybe we eat as little as possible and constantly cut calories so we can lose weight. Or we eat as much as we want but eat mainly fried, processed junk food.

I fell into a third category: I didn’t enjoy eating (and that’s putting it lightly). I ate only because I had to and was able to sustain myself on about 1,400 calories a day. I never thought I was fat or wanted to lose weight, I just didn’t like eating. It was a chore.

All of these scenarios keep us from thriving. Even if we think we feel and look our best, there is no comparison to when we nourish our bodies with the quality and quantity of food it desires.

Those in scenario one might ask, “Well, how do I do that without gaining weight?” People in scenario two would say, “Healthy food is all gross and boring.” And anyone who falls in scenario three like me might say, “There’s just no way I would ever desire to eat that much food.”

What’s great is there is a response to all of those comments that will shed light on the beauty of the vegan lifestyle.

Hurdle 1: Eating as much as you want of the right foods will not make you fat

Society has us conditioned to think if you want to lose weight, you have to eat less. But if you think critically about how our bodies are designed, that just doesn’t make sense. Yes, you will lose weight if you starve yourself. But if crash dieting has taught us anything, it’s that starvation is not sustainable. We end up binging and gaining all that weight back and then some. So we go on another diet. It’s a horrible cycle.

The reason it’s not sustainable is because our bodies need proper fuel to function properly. When we are on these diets, we can feel our bodies begging to be fed. Our stomach growls, we get headaches, and all we want to do is eat that entire plate of cookies. Your body starts to crave high calorie foods (fatty and processed foods) to make up for the deficit. Not only that, our bodies start to store more fat as a reserve because it doesn’t know the next time it will get proper food.

Our brain, organs, muscles and bones all need sufficient amounts of specific nutrients to perform at an optimal level. These nutrients can be found in the foods provided by the earth. There’s no need to outsource with animal products or overly processed foods.

By filling your body with fruits, vegetables and starches that are lower in fat and higher in carbohydrates and calories, your weight will naturally adjust to where it was designed to be. Wait, high carb, high calorie…that’ll make me fat! Carbs are the enemy, right? Wrong. Complex carbohydrates like those found in vegetables, potatoes, beans, etc. and simple carbohydrates from whole fruits energize your body and brain.

Let’s also breakdown the second part of that sentence: your weight will naturally adjust to where it was designed to be. This does not mean we will all be walking around like stick thin models. We all have different body types. Some of us have small frames, some have larger frames. Let’s all just accept that right now. However, there is a difference between having fat and having healthy tissue on your frame. Eating the proper foods will help you ditch the fat and what will remain is the healthy tissue your body needs.

This also means that not everyone will see the number on the scale go down. I gained weight. As I mentioned, I was hardly eating anything so my body did not have enough healthy tissue surrounding my bones and organs. In the first year of eating all the fruits, vegetables and starches I wanted, I gained about 6 pounds. Those were pounds that I was depriving my body of. I have not gotten fat by any means. I just filled in where needed then my weight plateaued.


Gaining weight is not something we should be afraid of, so long as it’s healthy weight. It’s more important to nourish your body with life-giving foods and to love what you see in the mirror than it is to reach an ambiguous number on a scale.

Hows your relationship with food? Is there anything you need to overcome or anything you have already overcome?

20 thoughts on “Improve Your Relationship with Food: Part 1

  1. Well put, nicely written, awesome, love you…. so glad you wrote this post! It’s so true, the goodness of all the vegys and fruit, etc. I lost weight, but I did feel sluggish with that extra weight on me. Not that I was fat by any means, but now I have lost about 13 or 15 lbs and I feel soooo good, cleaner, fitter. I’m only 5’2″, so not big to start with. I’m experimenting with raw vegan as well, and I definitely notice a difference, how much better I feel with raw. But I still cook stuff, and eat rice, past and potatoes, but it is nice to change it up!! And I am also deleting oil from my diet,(as much as possible, since it causes inflammation in the body), I lost another 3 lbs doing that.
    Thanks again for writing this post, really enjoyed!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your ‘food for thought’. It is shocking to know that you ate because you had to eat. I, on the other hand, was, am and always will be a foodie but am always aware of what I want and what my body needs. Thank you and good day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well after a few months of pretty much cutting out meat my body leaned up a little – well a noticeable amount actually – back to how I was years ago when I also didn’t really eat much meat at all. I just feel better too 😄😊

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I absolutely love this post! I’ve always been obsessed with weight loss and thought of eating as a chore like you did, so food was always my last priority. Though I’m not full-on vegan, I’ve been cutting out as much meat as I can, and I think it’s pretty cool that I can already see all the positive changes that are happening. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Absolutely loved reading this post, so true. I was a number one and feel so good now that I eat mostly vegan. Love meal times now and trying to eat as much as possible to get in the nutrients and goodness, rather than feeling guilty about eating too much

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy to hear your story. Thank you for sharing. Guilt is such a terrible feeling, especially when it comes to eating (something you do at least 3 times a day). It’s so easy to let it consume you. Congrats to you for rising above.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

