Product Review: Zuzu Luxe Mascara

Overall Rating:

StarStarStarStarEmpty Star

Follow

On a daily basis, I wear minimal makeup. Just mascara and concealer if and where needed. Even though the amount of make-up I wear is small, I focus much of my time in the morning on my eyes.

I’m very particular about how my eyelashes look and even get so meticulous as to separate them using a safety pin. (Side note: if anyone has a better method for separating eyelashes that isn’t so dangerous, please share in the comments!)

I’ve tried many mascaras to find one that makes my eyes pop. Before going vegan, I had my favorite mascara but once I realized what goes on during animal testing I quickly switched to a vegan brand.

Ever since then, I’ve been trying vegan brand after vegan brand searching for the mascara that would wow me. I’m sad to say that a lot of them have been duds, some have been ok, but one has seriously impressed me: the Zuzu Luxe Mascara in Onyx.

Some details before we get started:

Color: Onyx – Black
NET WT. 7.5ml/.25 oz
Price: $17.60
Ingredients: Aqua (Infusion of Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice)*, Cellulose Gum, Sorbitol, Stearic Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol, Lecithin, Panthenol, Crithmum Maritimum (Sea Fennel) Extract*, Tocopheryl Acetate, Euphrasia Officinalis (Eyebright) Extract, Xanthan Gum, Iron Oxides, Hectorite, Titanium Dioxide, Potassium Sorbate

The competition:

As I mentioned, I’ve spent about two years trying to find the perfect vegan mascara. I’ve tried Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes™ 4-in-1 Mascara, Tarte Gifted™ Amazonian Clay Smart Mascara, Pacifica Stellar Gaze Length & Strength Mineral Mascara, and Pacifica Dream Big Lash Extending 7 In 1 Mascara just to name a few.

The last one I tried before finding the Zuzu Luxe Mascara was the Pacifica Dream Big Lash Extending 7 In 1 Mascara. I was a little hesitant to try it after not being satisfied with their Stellar Gaze mascara but the woman at the store told me it was their best seller.

I was so disappointed with this mascara for many reasons. The biggest reason I was unhappy was it made my eyelashes look short. God gave me naturally long eyelashes so to look in the mirror and see what looked like stubby eyelashes upset me. They definitely did not “extend my lashes” as the name claims. Another reason I was unhappy with this mascara was that it was so difficult to remove. Even using makeup-removing face wipes required some elbow grease.

So I took it back and exchanged it for the Zuzu Luxe Mascara.

What’s great about the Zuzu Luxe Mascara:

This mascara delivers long, dark lashes in just two coats (sometimes I do three if I want more impact). Looking at the tube, you can see little fibers inside that serve to lengthen your lashes. Like I said, much of my time in the morning (10-15 minutes) is spent on my eyelashes so I like when my mascara does the heavy lifting.

Not only that, it coats each lash evenly so I don’t have to fight with clumps. The Zuzu Luxe Mascara is so easy and effortless to use. And trust me, that’s important for someone like me who is not a makeup guru.

Once it’s on, this mascara stays put throughout the day. I’ve never had to deal with flaking or smudging.

And at the end of the day this mascara comes off just as easily as it goes on. All I need is a bit of warm water and it falls right off. I don’t have to worry about it smudging all over my face or having to use makeup remover.IMG_3083

What’s not so great about the Zuzu Luxe Mascara:

I only have one gripe about this mascara. Sometimes (not every time) when I pull the wand out of the tube,  is mascara all on neck of the wand and sometimes clumped on the bristles. To combat this, I move the wand in a stirring motion as I pull it out of the tube. This makes it so the edges on the inside of the tube scrape off the excess.

Conclusion:

This vegan mascara tops all of the others I’ve tried so far. I don’t know if I’ve found “the one” yet but I’ve definitely found “the one until I find the one”. This mascara is nearly perfect. Even if you don’t have naturally long lashes, the fibers in this mascara will surprise you with all the extra length you’ll get.

As far as vegan mascaras go, this one is priced somewhere in the middle of the spectrum. You don’t need to shell out $20 or more for great mascara that does more than it promises.

Note: This is my honest review. I have not been compensated by Gabriel Cosmetics to write this review.

What’s your favorite vegan mascara? Please share in the comments and I’ll be sure to try it next!

Leave a Reply

