One Month Yoga Challenge: What I Learned About Myself

Follow
31 days of yoga. No rest days. No lazy days. No excuses.

I mentally prepared myself as if I were going to boot camp. I do not like failing and I knew that by setting this challenge for myself, I would fully commit and give it all I had.

So, why do a 1-month yoga challenge? Simply put, I want to get better at yoga. I’ve practiced yoga on and off for about 5 years, doing beginner-level classes 2-3 days a week most recently.

A couple months ago, I got an urge to be able to do those crazy tough, advanced level poses. To get there, I knew I had to push myself harder.

Then I came across Hannah McNeely’s video about doing yoga every day and that’s what gave me the inspiration to do the challenge.

On top of doing yoga every day for a month, I set a mini-goal for myself that I wanted to be able to hold crow pose for as long as I could without falling.

Keep reading to find out if I achieved my goal!
Scroll to the bottom for links to all of the free online classes I did.

Week 1

I noticed even after the first day that my confidence was boosted. Making the commitment to do yoga every day for a month made me feel…able. I felt like my yoga skills had already improved (even though it was just day 1).

After the first week, I thought I was going to feel exhausted or extremely sore or something to remind me that I had done yoga 7 days in a row. With how much effort it took to get myself to work out in the past, I thought there would be a noticeable, negative consequence. But no. Instead, I could already feel a small improvement in the strength of my body.

Week 2

So far it’s been very easy to get to my mat every day. In fact, I’ve been excited to do yoga, rather than having to force myself. Until one day this week. I had an exhausting day at work and just wanted to veg. I stuck with my commitment though and did a short, 25 minute beginner-level class. The next day I was back to normal, smiling my way through a vinyasa.

Something I realized this week is that I would feel guilty or like I was failing a bit if I did a shorter or easier class. I had to tell myself that yoga is yoga. I committed to doing some form of it every day.

Week 3

I’m starting to see a visible difference in my arms. I flex in front of the mirror like I’m a body builder. My whole body is starting to feel firmer and stronger, even if it’s not visible.

I’m loving this experience and want to continue after the month is up. I’ve decided to commit to another month of yoga every day. After that, I might commit to 3 months, then 6 months.

Week 4

So life happened this week. I got sick on Thursday. Like really sick. Stuck on the couch with no energy to even lift a finger. A nasty cough. And sinus congestion. For 5 days. Which took up the rest of the month.

And each day I lay dying on the couch I was more and more disappointed that I failed my challenge. One thing I’ve learned during this month of yoga is to listen to my body. And my body needed to rest, not finish a challenge.


The Results

It’s painful to admit that I didn’t complete my challenge. Not for lack of will. I was on a roll and enjoying every minute but my body had other plans. I haven’t been knocked out by a cold that bad in a very long time, so I’m grateful I was able to rest and nurture my body.

So how did I do on my crow pose goal? Before I started, I couldn’t even get up into the pose. By week three I was holding it for a solid 5 seconds. I know that if I could have finished the month, I would have achieved my goal of being able to hold it with complete control.

I’ve learned so much about myself this month and have grown physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually. In August, I’m going to explore the meditative and mental aspect of yoga, while still challenging my strength.


I practice yoga at home using a free website called DoYogaWithMe.com. Below is a calendar of all the classes I did and a link to each class if you’re interested in trying them out for yourself! (I am not affiliated with or sponsored by this site)

July

1

drishti flow

2

steadiness and ease

3

power yoga for motivation

4

a stretch class for beginners one and two

5

sweet little heart openers

6

breaking down barriers

7

strengthen and lengthen

8

open your hips and fly

9

a stretch class for beginners two

10

bend and stretch

11

steadiness and ease

12

twisty twists

13

power yoga for love love love

14

feel the love

15

power yoga to wake up

16

bedtime yoga

17

level 2 yoga/pilates fusion

18

breaking down barriers

19

strengthen and lengthen

20

gratitude

21

an evening flow

22

lines, angles and loops

23

a stretch class for beginners one

24

level 2 yoga/pilates fusion

25

flow to side crow

26

expand your horizons

27

sick 😦

28

sick 😦

29

sick 😦

30

sick 😦

31

sick 😦

Want to join me for an August yoga challenge? Share your journey in the comments or link to your site so I can follow your progress!

4 thoughts on “One Month Yoga Challenge: What I Learned About Myself

  1. Re:
    So life happened this week. I got sick on Thursday. Like really sick. Stuck on the couch with no energy to even lift a finger. A nasty cough. And sinus congestion. For 5 days. Which took up the rest of the month.
    And each day I lay dying on the couch I was more and more disappointed that I failed my challenge. One thing I’ve learned during this month of yoga is to listen to my body. And my body needed to rest, not finish a challenge.
    … that was absolutely the devil trying to thwart progress.
    Take oregano oil capsules every day. I’ve taken them for years to ward off allergies and colds. (Google “oregano oil benefits.”)
    Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

